Book Thoughts | We Are Okay

Title: We Are Okay
Author: Nina LaCour
Rating: 8/10

Soooooo, someone stayed in a book store for three hours today, sitting on a couch devouring this little gem of a book. Someone also shamelessly cried while sitting on said couch and wiped her tears and snot on the sleeves of her cardigan because she had no tissues whatsoever with her.

Ah! I haven’t been so engrossed in a book in such a long while and it is a feeling which I dearly missed. I just randomly picked this up from a shelf without any inkling that I was going to be in such an emotional roller coaster ride. But man, what a ride!

The first thing that gripped me is the way LaCour wrote very descriptively, it was almost poetic. I could clearly picture out everything. I could see the beach. I could see the waters. I could see the yellow bowl. I could see the blood in the handkerchief. I could even see the wrinkles on Gramps face. At times, it also seemed like I could feel the cold of New York winter and the softness of Mabel’s scarf. But what kept me reading is the way LaCour was able to evoke emotions in me after just reading the first few pages. I immediately felt the loneliness of Marin, the main character. I felt her desperation.

Ah, I don’t how to tell what the story is about. But Marin and Mabel were high school friends and a few weeks after Mabel left for university, Marin’s only family, her Gramps, died. She left their town hurriedly and basically disappeared from everyone back at home. The holidays came and because she didn’t want to go back, Mabel decided to go to her to persuade her to go back home with her and to talk about what happened to Marin after she disappeared.

I read this for a short time but this story will stay with me for a long time. It was painful and it was heartbreaking but it was also hopeful and heartwarming.

What a good random read!

——

P.S I didn’t even buy the book. I think I should be ashamed but I don’t have budget for new books.

Leave a comment